Bibliophiles' Lunch

Sisters share paleo recipes, books, and DIY

Kielbasa with Sauerkraut

1 Comment

imageI started with a recipe which I had been longing to cook.  Then it turned out that I didn’t have all the ingredients, or two hours plus of time to cook it. So I just winged it.

I had a can of Choucroute Speciale, rather than regular sauerkraut which I couldn’t find in the supermarket near me. It’s probably there somewhere, but I couldn’t find it. I did find the choucroute at a specialty supermarket, it had goose fat, white wine, juniper berries, carrots and smoked bacon in it. Coincidently white wine, juniper berries, carrots, and smoked bacon were in my recipe. To compensate for the wine in the sauerkraut I cut the wine I added in half, and left out the chicken broth. Next time I will add more liquid, or perhaps try the slow cooker.

First I browned my pancetta, then I added the choucroute, wine, and sliced kielbasa. Then I baked it for forty minutes, since it was getting very late.

it was good, but it’s probably better if you take more time and stick a bit closer to the recipe.

One thought on “Kielbasa with Sauerkraut

  1. This sounds very tasty! What amounts or proportions did you use?

    Like

Leave a Reply

