Bibliophiles' Lunch

Sisters share paleo recipes, books, and DIY

Soupe de Cepes Correzienne (Wild Mushroom Soup)

Leave a comment

IMG_1131

I began with the Wild Mushroom Soup recipe from The Soups of France by Lois Anne Rothert, my favorite soup recipe book. The original recipe calls for 16 oz fresh cepes. Since that isn’t so easy to accomplish, I generally reconstitute two to three little packages of dried mushrooms–porcini (Italian for cepe) or any other dried varieties–or I use whatever fresh mushrooms appeal to me at the supermarket. This time I used a package of white button mushrooms and a package of baby bella mushrooms.  Here is my version of the recipe:

16 oz package white button mushrooms, sliced
16 oz package baby bella mushrooms, sliced
2 leeks sliced white and pale green parts only
3 Tbs rendered bacon fat (or fat of your choice)
2 cloves garlic
1-1/2 quarts chicken broth
1 tsp salt
freshly ground pepper
1 cup coconut milk (homemade or canned, unsweetened)

Clean the mushrooms and slice. Slice the leeks. Melt the fat and saute the leeks for 3 minutes. Add the mushrooms and cover stirring from time to time. When the mushrooms have rendered their liquid, softened and shrunk a bit add the garlic, broth, salt and pepper. Simmer for 30 minutes. Using a stick blender puree the soup until it is the consistency you like–I like pieces of mushroom still in my soup so I don’t puree much. Add the coconut milk.

Voila! A simple soup that is tasty and satisfying.

Leave a Reply

