Bibliophiles' Lunch

Sisters share paleo recipes, books, and DIY

Pork Stew

3 Comments

image

The original recipe called for beef, pork, and lamb. When we make it we use beef or pork (lamb is almost impossible to find in my neighborhood).  The most important ingredient is the pork belly.

Ingredients:

pork stew cubes

pork belly cut into cubes

2 leeks sliced fine

1 onion chopped

1 large carrots

potatoes peeled and sliced

white wine

2 cloves of garlic

1 tsp. juniper berries

1 tsp. peppercorns

two bay leaves

Tie up the juniper berries, peppercorns and bay leaves in cheese cloth.  Place a layer of potato slices in the oiled bottom of the pot. Then add a layer of the sliced vegetables, and meat cubes, followed by another layer of potato, and another layer of the other ingredients. Add the bouquet garni, and the wine cover and bake at 350 for three hours.  The pork cubes will be tender, and the pork belly will almost have melted.

When I cook this I divide it into two parts and cook one without the potatoes, since I cannot eat night shade plants without having horrible arthritis.

3 thoughts on “Pork Stew

  1. This sounds delicious! I wonder if I can find pork belly to make this.

    Like

  2. I see it everywhere in queens…

    Like

  3. I made a version of this yesterday. I found the pork belly at Whole Foods. I doubt I got the proportions right. I used 1 lb lamb, 1 lb pork, and 1-1/4lb pork belly. For the vegetable part I used 4 carrots, 1 onion, 1 leek, and 1 celery root in place of the potatoes. I layered the meats and vegetables and then used 1 quart chicken stock plus a splash of wine and enough additional water to cover. I put a lid on the dish and cooked for 3 hours. At that point it seemed awfully watery so I removed the lid and cooked another hour. It was a hearty stew and tasty but probably not what you made. It smelled wonderful as it cooked. What is the correct ratio of meats to each other and to the vegetables?

    Like

Leave a Reply

