Bibliophiles' Lunch

Sisters share paleo recipes, books, and DIY

Civet de lapin

2 Comments

When I found rabbit at my local Hanaford’s, I knew that I would be making Civet de Lapin soon.  I found a recipe on Marmiton Recipe for Civet de Lapin

(Sorry, picture is reheating leftovers):

I adjusted the recipe as follows:

  • 1 rabbit cut into 6 pieces
  • Oil for browning–I used olive oil and butter
  • 1 shallot chopped
  • 1/4 head of garlic
  • the rabbit’s liver
  • slice of pancetta (I omitted this time)
  • a sprig of parsley
  • 4 bay leaves
  • a generous pinch of thyme
  • 2 tablespoons of cognac
  • 2 cups robust red wine
  • 1 carrot sliced into rounds
  • 1 stalk celery sliced
  • the rabbit kidneys chopped

Brown the rabbit pieces in the oil, a few at a time as they fit into the pot.  When they are all golden, return all the pieces to the pot and flambe the cognac over them.

While the rabbit is browning, chop the garlic, shallot, liver, and optional pancetta together.

Remove the rabbit pieces from the pot and fry the garlic mixture.  When it is softened return the rabbit pieces to the pot, add the red wine, herbs, carrot, celery and kidneys.  Top off with water to cover.  Bring to a boil on the stove top and set in a preheated 300 (F) degree oven for one hour.

This was tasty and smelled great as it cooked.  The liver and kidneys were in the rabbit’s body cavity when I bought the rabbit.  I adjusted the recipe from the original by skipping the step involving flour to thicken the broth.  The civet can be adjusted by using any red wine, a variety of aromatics (herbs and vegetables).

Wine used this time: OOPS: Cabernet Franc Carmenere 2013 from Chile (84% Cabernet Franc, 16% Carmenere)

When I googled wine suggestions Bordeaux was suggested as well as a number of fairly strong reds.

2 thoughts on “Civet de lapin

  1. It looks delicious! I wish I could get rabbit at my local market.

    Like

  2. You can order the same brand rabbit and many other delicious goodies directly from dartagnan.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

